Newport News DUI Lawyer
13195 Warwick Boulevard
Newport News, VA 23602
Being arrested for DUI in Newport News is no laughing matter. It is a serious offense that can impact you for the rest of your life: your ability to drive, to work at jobs requiring a clean driving record, and to live without the threat of incarceration.
You need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you, and Michael C. Tillotson is available to talk to you , or fill out the form to the right. You will get personal and immediate assistance and a free, no-obligation consultation about your case.
You need professional advice today so that you do not face the loss of your driver's license or a range of other penalties guaranteed to negatively impact your life:
• Does your DUI involve special circumstances, such as extremely high BAC, an accident, or was a minor being transported? You could face a $2,500 fine, one year in jail, and the loss of the driver's license for up to one year.
• Often a fine of up to $300 is imposed for a first DUI.
• The driver may loses his license for one year; a restricted operator's license may be granted, giving permission to drive to work, school, and other necessary locations.
• ‘DUI School' through the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program is usually required at a cost of around $300.
• If your BAC was between .15 and .20, a mandatory five-day jail sentence is required.
• For a BAC above .20 percent, the mandatory jail sentence is ten days.
• A BAC above .15 may incur installation of an ignition interlock system at the driver's expense that requires an alcohol-free breath test before the vehicle will start.
• If a minor was in the car and the state gets a DUI conviction on the driver, the penalty is compounded with an additional mandatory five-day jail sentence and an additional fine of $500 to $1000.
• Your insurance rates can escalate dramatically – or you may even be refused insurance – if you are convicted of DUI.
• Prior DUI? For the second conviction within ten years, a ten-day jail term (maximum one year) is mandatory, a minimum $500 fine, and the driver's license is revoked for three years. It is three months for a third conviction within ten years and one year in jail for a fourth offense within ten years.
• If this is the driver's second conviction within five years, the punishment is twenty days in jail; it is six months' jail time for a third offense within five years.
• The driver's third DUI offense means his license can be revoked for any amount of time at the discretion of the courts. A minimum $1,000 fine is mandatory, and instead of a misdemeanor the driver faces a Class VI felony. Being within five years of the last DUI conviction wins the driver a mandatory six-month jail term. The driver could lose ownership of his vehicle permanently.
Michael Tillotson is an experienced, professional criminal defense attorney. He has years of experience assisting Newport News residents in protecting their rights.
DUI laws vary between states and counties, so hire the best: hire an attorney experienced in Virginia DUI law as it applies to the residents of Newport News and those arrested in that city. It is important to understand the complexities of the law as they apply to your particular case, and Attorney Tillotson will lead you through the process step-by-step to keep your stress to a minimum. You need to know what to do right now so that your mistake does not impact you for the rest of your life.
Contact Michael Tillotson for immediate help and make your mistake go away.